Home

New Literacies Classroom

In my first take at concisely re-writing the characteristics that are essential to the new literacies classroom or library I believe that the concepts were broad enough (or perhaps vague enough) to encompass a much of what was presented by the class.

Access – foster the ability to gain entry to the various and ever-expanding platforms of information sharing. From the wealth of knowledge still in print form to the most sophisticated Web 2.0 imagining.

Understanding – students become literate in said platforms with the ability to grow, network and learn independently and in groups.

Production – students gain the ability to use tools in a cohesive manner and produce meaningful outputs. From

Some of the infrastructure was definitely missing.  The first point on Lea’s list outlines this void in my list:

“Up-to-date and functional equipment – often the computers at our school are not functioning or are just dreadfully slow, which causes the students to lose interest and can really limit what I can do with the students on the computers. Greater bandwidth is a huge necessity, as too many times in my 6 year career I have planned out and had my lesson with multimodalities ready to go and the sites I need just won’t load or play videos that I need. Subscriptions to great Web 2.0 sites would be included in keeping ‘up-to-date’.”

Game Time

I think games definitely have a place in the classroom and the library. Becoming proficient at games provides many skills that overlap into educational and professional situations. Learning the rules is akin to understanding assignment guidelines, assessing competition is crucial to many professions, and taking joy in playing and winning games could possibly change some negative preconceptions students have towards learning.

While playing sports in high school, namely basketball and rugby I had very demanding coaches that would push me to what I thought was beyond my limits. It was through these games that the value of hard work became apparent. I also learned that everyone is capable of more than they would assume, and it was harmful to place ceilings on myself before the attempt was even made.

Sports and non athletic games teach us about the world, because I believe that when people are competing some social guards are lowered and people s true personalities are revealed. It this manner we learn more about each other and therefore our little worlds.

This Class is as Big as the World!

My initial answer to this question was as follows:   I think this question comes down to the purpose of school. Is its’ goal to prepare students for life beyond its gates or is it only going to live in the abstract. Fact, figures, and theories that does not connect to the world around them. Trying to make a classroom or library as big as the world deals with the inter connectivity and speed to which information travels. Allowing students to be smart consumers of this information and more importantly use the tools available to produce and publish beyond the back walls of the classroom. After reading the more experienced teacher’s responses it seems my initial comments may seem a little naive or unattainable.  I think I’ll try my best to shot high and not become cynical too fast.  Hold back the seas as long as possible as they say.

One thought on “Kist Write – Up

  1. Some excellent points here Jagroop. Your list of characteristics was insightful, with production being the most interesting to me. Students gain more understanding when they are able to adapt and modify assignments into productions and demonstrations of their own meaning.

    I think the gaming question needed to be addressed a little more specifically, looking at games, not neccesairly sports, which do have significant differences. Games allow imagination, role-playing, and build connections to content. Its important to look at some of the classsic educational games (Yukon Trail for example) that teach content, while at the same time demonstrating decision making and strategizing.

    Finally, I think collecting experiences and wisdom from some of the other members of the class and their contributions to understanding how to expand our classrooms and Libraries to be more worldly is a valuable goal, and one that our students connect with deeply. It does not have to be superficial, nor scary, and can be managed in a way to enable students and classrooms to connect across the planet, using tools like Skype.

    Overall, a good first blog post!

Leave a Reply

