Home

Flikr

Flikr seems to be the gold standard when it comes to Photo Sharing.  I found it very simple to work with as a Flikr newcomer.  I was able to drag and drop a hand full of picture from my PC pretty easily.  I was rubbed the wrong way about the Namaste greeting in Hindi that welcomed me to the site for the first time.  This may have been due to my paranoia over disappearing privacy is the information age.  It was like they already knew things about me.  My paranoia subsided a little the second time I visited the site and was greeted with labdien, a Latvian greeting.

EDUCAUSE review onlineWilliam J. Allen’s article, “Using Flikr for Media Rich-Rich Classes” outlines the advantages for group work in analyzing images.   This has obvious relevance for media and art classes but has the potential to be used in a wider educational forum.  Some of the features highlighted in the article were, private groups where each student can add to the conversation, the permanent record of the conversation for the instructor and extremely easy maintenance.

As I navigated Flikr I found some interesting possible educational applications.  One was a site called Bookr, is roughly affiliated with Flikr.  It allows a simple picture book to be created with a title and text.  It would be great for elementary classes.  It also could be used for group creative writing sessions, or to supplement lectures.  I quickly made a book and left the text blank; this could be used as a quick write exercise.  The little picture book is titled Bailey’s Adventure.  It would not allow publishing without the title.  For a creative writing exercise I would simply write title allowing the students to create their own.  A second was the wonderful game named Five Card Story that rotates pictures to choose from their Creative Commons copyrighted materials.  Creative Commons is a cool feature allowing the copyrights to be very narrowly defined and propagated for educational uses.   The pictures that I used for Bookr had to be designated Creative Commons before I could use them to be published.  I had a little fun with the game last night and wrote a brief yarn titled Sick Scones.  This game is tailor made for a creative wring quick write at a computer lab, or library computer stations.  It could also be used as a quick assignment to get students used to Flikr.

Flikr is a potentially a great tool for the teacher librarian.  The one that jumps out at me immediately is to create a catalogue of student taken photographs that they deemed historic, or culturally meaningful, or simply beautiful, interesting, or intriguing in some manner.   Hopefully this would engage the students and make them feel ownership of a small part of the library resources.

3 thoughts on “Photo Sharing

  1. Well done blog post! A good overview of your exploration in flickr, and potential usage for you as an educator or teacher-librarian.

    My wife would very much like to go on an adventure like Bailey, especially if there is SkinnyGirl along the way! A great example of some of the amazing things you can do with a simple and free flickr account.

    A little more embedding of your multimedia right inside your blog post would be one way to improve your sharing, creating a more visual blog post that is accessible to your readers. I wonder if the Bookr you created allows you to embed right inside your blog post, instead of having to click out to a seperate site?

    I hear you on the privacy/paranoia stuff! Sometimes it feels like the web is watching us, and picking personal things up, but really, its just a big dumb machine, and we give it more smarts than it deserves!

    Thanks for a great post.

    Aaron

  2. Hi
    I appreciated all the information regarding the educational uses for teacher librarians. OK…and Bailey is so cute!!
    It sounds like you have a good handle on flickr. I did find though that I haven’t quite figured out how to best search through flickr for images to use that don’t have copyrights on them. When I did a search for “clouds” almost all the ones were copyrighted. When I did an advanced search in the Commons, there really wasn’t anything there that was appealing. Am I doing something wrong?

  3. I’ve noticed the same problem with creative commons. The pictures in CC are not so great. However, if using the pictures for education, you’re allowed to use copyrighted works, just keep them in the class. Also, the Critical Thinking Consortium has come great lessons and ideas as well as picture sets for using pictures in classes. You need to pay to have access, but many districts have access. Some of the material is available free here: http://sourcedocs.tc2.ca/picture-sets/strategies-for-investigating-pictures.html

Leave a Reply

